Congratulations to the following 20 Cain Middle School Band students who successfully auditioned and made the Rockwall ISD All-District Honor Band.

All-District Honor Band Members 2017-2018

On Wednesday, students from all three middle schools competed for only a handful of spots in the elite ensemble. Students were required to play two major scales, their full chromatic scale, and two prepared etudes.

Bravo to all the students for working so hard and to Mr. Trevor Ousey and Mr. Thomas Kramer for their commitment to the program, with the support of Mr. Rod Kosterman, Mr. Ben Sumrak, Mrs. Leighann Buck, Mr. Jonathan Morsinkhoff, and the team of private lesson instructors for their help and support along the way.

Here are the students:

Desiree Velasquez, Flute
Cole Dougherty, Flute
Garrett Salowski, Clarinet
Elizabeth Beem, Clarinet
Emily Purser, Clarinet
Katy Maroney, Clarinet
Hunter Kirk, Alto Saxophone*
Adam Johnson, Alto Saxophone
Caleb Edney, Trumpet*
Kayla Shrewsberry, Trumpet
Trevor Stanford, Trumpet
Elizabeth Wade, Trumpet
Gavin Ramey, Euphonium*
Brett Strange, Euphonium
Habib Rahman, Euphonium
Ian Blackburn, Tuba*
Ethan Rodriguez, Tuba
Cayden McClenny, Tuba
Derek Baughman, Percussion
Landry Wycough, Percussion

* denotes first chair players

These students will join others from around the district and participate in the All-District Honor Band clinic and concert on January 26th and 27th at the Rockwall High School Performing Arts Center with guest clinician Chris Peñeda from Richardson ISD.